Notes: Create, Archive, and Delete

November 22, 2022

10 min read

Every space in Rock has a notes mini-app for you to document information and share it with team members, clients, partners, and freelancers.

Notes are helpful when you want to keep important information at hand within Rock. Think of How to use Rock explanations for new clients, meeting minutes, or rules/ guidelines for communities.

Creating notes is easy, and anyone in a space can read them. However, only members and admins can create new notes and edit existing ones, so it’s essential to ensure you have your space settings and user permissions appropriately configured.

This product guide will dig into creating your first notes and how you can archive or delete them when they are no longer needed.

Creating a note ?

Since notes help store important announcements, updates, or information you don't want to lose in the chat stream, we’ve ensured that there are several ways for you to create a note in a space.

We'll dive more in-depth into the methods for task creation below:

The messaging panel

Use the (+) note option that will allow you to quickly switch and create notes when messages or tasks don't cut it anymore. This option is convenient when you have already written a long message that you wish to convert into a note. Pressing the (+) note button will automatically fill the note with the text from your message.

Notes mini-app

Access the mini-app by clicking “Notes” on the top part of your space. Press the large blue (+) button on the bottom right corner once the panel opens to create a new note. The main difference between the (+) note button and the notes mini-app is that you can also browse previously created notes when you’re in the mini-app.

My Notes

You can also create and add notes through My Notes, which you can access on the left-hand side of your app, under Spaces and My Tasks. Once you click on the large blue (+) button, there will be a box where you can type in your note. You’ll also have the option to select which space you’d want to add the note in. Make sure you’re a member or admin of the space, or else you won’t be allowed to create a note.

Tap to Organize

Another option is to create a note from a message. Click on the button “Change to” next to the message and then click on the Note logo. This will open the Notes panel, where you can add your note. It’s also possible to create a note across multiple messages when you click the checkbox across various messages.

Alternatively, a prompt on the bottom of the screen will also pop up, giving you the option to create a note using a message or move messages to a note's comments section.

Deleting and archiving a note ?️

Notes can be deleted or archived if you want to clean up the Notes mini-app of a space. Once you delete your note, you’ll get a prompt asking you if you really want to delete a note as you won’t be able to retrieve its information and comments.

You can always archive a note if you want to remove a note from your Notes mini-app but don’t want to lose any information in the note.

Archiving a note means removing it from your list while keeping the information within your account. It’s just not in an “active” state.

To access any archived notes, toggle the “Show archived” bar on the upper left-hand corner of a space's notes mini-app, and it will show any archived notes you have.

If you have any archived notes that you want to unarchive, you click the “Unarchive button.” Note that you’re still able to set aside or mention notes that have been archived. If unsure what space the archived note is in, you can always view My Notes and then toggle “Show Archived” to show all the archived notes you have across different spaces.

Note that archived notes will only show on My Notes if you're the creator, an assignee, or a follower of the note.

If you have any other questions or suggestions for improving our notes feature, feel free to reach out to the Rock team via the Rock Customer Support and Updates space.

Frequently Asked Questions on Notes

Who can create, edit, and delete notes?

Anyone with the admin or member role in the space can create, edit, and delete all the notes in that space. Guests can still contribute to the discussion by making comments in the notes.

Is there a limit as to how many notes I can create?
No! Anyone in any plan (FREE, PRO, TEAMS) can create an unlimited number of notes.

Can someone else delete a note I created?

As long as that person is an admin or a member in the space, they can delete notes in that space.

Is there a limit on how much I can type on each note?

Yes. Right now, every written note can contain up to 10,240 characters. Once the note reaches that amount of characters, Rock will now allow your note to be saved.

Oh no! I have a really long note. What can I do given your character limits?

You can always opt to break down your notes into several separate notes or upload attachments to a note. We recommend that you put all the exhaustive details onto a file and attach the file via the Files mini-app. You can learn more about notes here.

Can I insert an image into the note content?

No, you can’t insert an image into the note’s body. However, you can add an attachment to the note if you need to add images.

When I archive a note, will it become hidden from all space members?

Yes, when you archive a note, it will be hidden for all space members unless they have the “Show Archived” option toggled.

How can I retrieve a deleted note on Rock?

Unfortunately, you can’t retrieve a deleted note on Rock. Before deleting a note, we show a popup informing users that deleted notes cannot be recovered and give them the option to archive the note instead. Archived notes can be unarchived, and you can keep all information and comments in the note.

Available on