Rock & Dropbox

November 22, 2022

10 min read

A robust file management system ensures the best workflow for remote teams. This is why we allow a mix of in-app file uploads and online drive service integrations to enable teams to get the most out of their documentation and files.Proper documentation is integral to working asynchronously as it helps people function without needing to ask others for more detail constantly. This is why we’ve enabled Dropbox users to integrate their drive into Rock’s Files mini-app. We’ve made it easy for teams to consistently share files and improve documentation through our Dropbox integration.

How to add Dropbox to Rock ?

Dropbox is an account-based integration which means that once you connect the drive service with rock, you will be able to connect folders and files across different spaces without integrating the drive again.To add Dropbox to Rock, follow these steps:Step 1: Enter the files mini-app and select Dropbox.

Step 2: Click on Dropbox, and a new tab or popup will open asking you to sign in to your Dropbox account. Dropbox may ask you to do additional verification steps to prove you’re human.

Step 3:  You’ll be prompted to allow Rock to give access to your Dropbox. If you cancel, then the integration will be aborted.

Once you allow the integration and it's completed, you will be redirected to the Rock space where you set up the integration.A prompt in Rock will list all your Dropbox folders. You can then choose which folders you want to link to Rock.

Adding Dropbox Folders to spaces ?️

You can add your own or shared folders to the Files mini-app of a space. You cannot upload individual files. All files you want to upload from your Dropbox onto Rock must be in a folder.When you link a folder into Rock, all folders and files in that folder will be accessible from the Files mini-app in your space.

All you have to do is click on the folder name to view and access the contents - both files and subfolders.? Note:Users will not be able to access the folders in the spaces you have uploaded them to unless you have given them permission in Dropbox. Ensure that you update user permissions in Dropbox if you want them to access files and folders within Rock. Alternatively, you have to ensure that users are part of the space that they need files access to. Even if a user has all the necessary drive permissions, they won’t be able to access the files within Rock if they are not part of the space.If you want to go back to the main Files mini-app panel or into a previous folder, press the < Folder on the top left corner of the panel.

Once you’ve successfully linked a drive service and have added files and folders to the Files mini-app in a Space, you can use the blue + button on the lower right-hand corner of the Files view to add more drive services.

Files Hover Buttons ?️

If you want to open a Dropbox folder or file in a new tab, you can press this button, which will open the file or folder within the Dropbox page.

The second button is the Set Aside button, allowing you to Set Aside a folder or a specific file.

The third button is the unlink button, which allows you to unlink the folder you initially linked to Rock. You cannot unlink subfolders or files within the originally attached folder. This means you can only unlink the main folder you initially linked in Rock.

Using Your Dropbox Folders and Files Across Your Rock ?

Since you’ve integrated your Dropbox folders and files onto Rock, you can easily add these cloud-based files as attachments to your tasks and notes.Note: You can also authorize cloud services via this feature if you don’t have anything authorized yet.You’ll need to click on the “Link Cloud Storage” option to link a folder or file to a specific task or note.

? Note: Linking files or folders to tasks doesn’t work when entering tasks in board view…for now.

Removing Documents or the Integration from a Space ✂️

Removing folders

You can remove folders from a Dropbox integration by pressing the red unlink button.Everything inside the folder won’t be accessible in the space but will still exist in its owners’ Dropbox. Of course, you can always link a folder back to the space if needed.You’ll need to have admin permission in the space to remove others’ folders. However, anyone can remove their uploaded folder, even those former members or admins who have been downgraded to guest.You can only remove the linked folder, not a subfolder or document. If you want to remove access to a particular subfolder or document within a folder, you can either:

  • Remove the information from the parent folder in Dropbox.
  • Or unlink the parent folder and manually add subfolders except for the one you don’t want to be visible in the space.

Removing the integration

You can remove the Dropbox integration by going to user settings > Authorized Apps > press Disconnect.

Once you remove the integration from your account, the connected folders and files won’t be accessible in the linked spaces but will still exist in the Files mini-app.

You can reauthorize access after disconnecting Dropbox on a previously connected folder. Once you re-integrate Dropbox, all folders in your different spaces will become available again.

If you want your folders not to be visible once you remove the integration, you will have to unlink the folders from your spaces manually. You can do this both before and after deauthorizing Dropbox.

Frequently Asked Questions on the Dropbox Integration?

What happens to folders I linked in the Files mini-app if I leave/am removed from a space?

When you leave or are removed from a space, your linked folders will be unlinked from the Files mini-app. If you re-enter the space, you must connect the folders again.

What would happen to my folders and files if I were to delete my account?

When you leave a space, all cloud services you integrated will be disconnected, and all folders you linked will be unlinked.

What happens to folders and files from suspended accounts?

Folders from suspended accounts will still be available for access in the space unless they are unlinked or are deleted from their drive services.

What happens if I move my folder to a different location on Dropbox? Will I have to add it again?

The folder will still be accessible in a space, but user permissions might change. Some users might gain or lose access depending on changes to the folder or the permissions available in the new destination.

What happens to folders in a space if they are deleted from Dropbox?

It will appear that Rock cannot find the folder, and no one will be able to access the information. Folders and files that are contents will disappear when reopened. You can unlink the deleted folder to remove it from your Files mini-app.

Can I give a user permission to access a folder from Rock?

No, you’ll need to grant access permissions or send invites to the user through Dropbox.

Can the Rock Team see what is inside the folders I connect to my spaces?

No, the integration adds the information to your space. We are not able to see what documents you have in your folder. Additionally, if users in space don’t have permission, they won’t be able to access information.

Is there an upload limit to my folders in Dropbox?

Upload limits are irrespective of Rock. Make sure to check your storage limits on Dropbox. You can keep uploading files on Dropbox via Rock as long as Dropbox’s storage quota lets you.

What happens to folders and files if everyone leaves a group space?

As soon as all members leave the space, all file storage information and integrations are removed.

Available on